Our Search for the Eloosive Moosive in NH and Vermont

New Englanders, and those who come to partake of these illustrously-wooded states, are obsessed with the large land animal known as the Eloosive Moosive. Thus begins our search…

So Much “Fake Moos”

Just another “fake moos” sighting

Joe: I want to see a moose.

Me: Duh.

We’re in Mooseland. Of course we’ll see a moose. Or even multiple meeses.

I was confident, especially after the girl at the sub shop told us she’d seen TWO. In one YEAR!

Holy common AF. It goes without saying then that our task was to search for this mythical being; but, in order to lure him, her, or them (we’re equal opportunity meese viewers) out into the open, we agreed to meander about pretending to do other things. In their general vicinity.

After all, we reasoned, this way we’d be sure to spot them from the corner of our eye and react accordingly. Oooh….aaaaahhhh….picture, picture, picture.

To earn the favor of the moosegods, we even stayed along the Moose River in Vermont, doubling down with our pick of the Moose River Campground. Surely meese must abound here where they are immortalized in statue and signage, no?

We Searched LOW…

We went On Foot…And by Bike…

I even tricked a chipmunk into our fire ring and proceeded to torture him for answers. “Every admission gets you one more sunflower seed, bucko. Now…where are the GD meeses? Are you acquainted with any of these beings? Take me to your moose leader.”

But he just eyed me up and down dismissively, yanked the sunflower seed bag out of my hand, and escaped through the christmas tree cutout. Turns out chipmunks are sneaky bastages, too. And able to withstand a measurable amount of torture by seed. Respect.

We Even Searched High…

Joe made this drive alone. No way!

I mean HIGH as in UP IN THE AIR, folks. Get your minds out of the cannabis gutter. (I’ll meet you there later…only where it’s legal, of course, which it turns out is most of New England.)

In order to search for meeses up HIGH, however, I would be required to confront one of the teensy terrors I’ve been hiding from you; I mean, you’re probably suitably convinced of my bravery in all matters right now. Why mess with a good thing?

What? I already mentioned my abject abhorrence of heights in a previous blog? Well, then, my not-so-secret secret fear is out. Yes, I’m afraid of heights. Yes, my palms become dew-laden even watching mountain climbers in movies. No, it never gets better. I posit that in a former life I was a Native American woman trying to protect my child and we were both tossed over a cliff by evil palefaces. Or something of that nature…don’t be judgy about my past-life memories.

I’m usually ok if I can back off from the edge about 20 ft or so, and with that in mind I was forced to decline, in ever-so-ladylike fashion, Joe’s offer to ride shotgun with him on a drive up Mt. Washington. Um…no guardrails, you say? Not wide enough for two vehicles, you say? Right on the edge of a cliff, is that right?

Nope, no, not today, not tomorrow, not EVER. No.

NO! No.

We hopped a cable car to the top of Cannon Mountain ($26) and a train ($75, ouch but worth it once) to the top of Mt. Washington. Both were lovely and recommended for you (survivable for me) and the views made me glad I didn’t scurry into hiding and miss all the memories.

In the end, I must report udderly [see what I did there] no Eloosive Moose sightings for us, notwithstanding the diligence with which we undertook our mission. Maybe next pass?

The Treat of Stephen Huneck’s Dog Mountain

You’re probably cooler than me. Wiser. More hip. If so you probably know of Stephen Huneck and his beautiful artwork, but we stumbled upon Dog Mountain because it was near our camp along the Moose River.

We visited for their end-of-summer Dog Party and I was in heaven! I watched the dogs run, swim, and play off-leash in the pond, and then got to wave bye-bye to the dirty little critters as they headed off home with mommies and daddies for a bath.

Speaking of Rescue Dogs

It’s been a struggle making time for both sightseeing AND writing, designing, and publishing animal books from the road, but I’m super proud of our latest title at FCB: Hachi’s Favorite Akita Stories.

Editor Anastasia Ormeron worked closely with Akita fans worldwide to put together true tales of Akitas and the people who love them.

Illustrator @Akitas_comics created the amazing cover artwork, and then I designed the cover and interior from my “RV office-on-the-road,” which consists mainly of a recliner, a lap desk, and a laptop. Anastasia and I then hashed it out to as close to perfection as our little hearts could take us, and here we are!

Hachi’s Favorite Akita Stories is now available in hardcover, paperback, and kindle. Coming soon in audiobook.

P.S. A Signature for the Bears, Please?

I’m raising awareness (not well, mind you) for two bears captured from the wild at a park in New Hampshire. Could you please sign and share my petition? I would be most grateful, and offer you my eldest cat in thanks. If she rips your face off, that one’s on you…fair warning.

https://chng.it/JRHXkcnnF7

One thought on “Our Search for the Eloosive Moosive in NH and Vermont

Leave a comment