A Dog’s Purpose Shines a Spotlight on Chaining, and that Is Enough for Me to Consider it Forgiveness-Worthy

Well, oddly enough, the entire content to this blog post just up and disappeared…um. Does anyone else find that strange and disturbing? I know I do. That’s never happened before…

Unfortunately I didn’t save it elsewhere; so here’s the gist of what was undoubtedly brilliant rhetoric the first go-round, but is now just short, sweet, and to the point:

If you’re an animal lover or rescuer, I’m sure you’ve heard by now of the uproar over the German Shepherd scene in the new movie “A Dog’s Purpose,” where a trainer is attempting to force the dog into the water when he obviously doesn’t want to go. This is spliced with another scene where the dog is swimming and goes under.

Of course I, like everyone else, was disturbed by the footage.

But, I decided to see this movie anyway after reading producer Gavin Polone’s message here, and I commend him for taking the outcry seriously and doing all he can to make sure it doesn’t happen again: http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/gavin-polone-a-dogs-purpose-outcry-what-happened-whos-blame-967160

I’m glad I saw the movie, because it highlights…drum roll…DOG CHAINING!

As an activist who’s worked for the invisible backyard dogs for 15 years, seeing a major motion picture that takes my cause to the public eye is heartwarming, to say the least.

I’ve spoken face to face with hundreds of people who chain their dogs for life. Do you know how many of them will tell you they LOVE their dog?

Virtually 100% of them!

And some probably even believe it.

So what if these people, who THINK they love their dogs but chain them for life, take their kids to see this movie? What do you think COULD happen?

I think there’s a chance this movie could make a dog chainer reconsider his/her choices and do something better for the dog languishing in the backyard—whether that would be to bring him/her inside to live, or to find the dog a better home and a kinder family.

And that, my friends, makes it forgiveness-worthy in my book.

Here’s to unchaining Man’s Best Friend, and hoping dog chainers, and you, see “A Dog’s Purpose”.

I cried, and you just might too.

