I Dipped My Toes Into the Rescue Pool for Two Lab/Shepherd Mixes…and Liked It!

After my dog Sloan passed away in May, I took a break from rescue—for sanity’s sake.

Then I decided to step up to adopt a dog I’d rescued, Sheba, from Dogs Deserve Better, and you know how well that turned out if you read my last blog.

I was in no hurry to rescue again…as after 13 years of constant chained and penned dog rescue, I felt overly tired and due for a rest.

But a couple days ago I saw photos of two lab/shepherd/heinz 57 mix girls only an hour away from my home that a friend of mine posted, and I felt that ‘quickening’ we get when a certain dog calls to us.

I wanted to help again…and I was excited about it. A minor miracle in itself! Joe was super excited about it too, (eh-hem), but Brynnan jumped right in the car with me this morning without complaint. If you know teenagers, you know that she must have been excited to get out of bed at 8:30 on a Sunday morning to go rescue a coupla’ dogs…right?

I met up with the contact and followed him to the home of the dogs near Shenandoah, VA. The owner was not around, even though we’d scheduled in advance, so we walked over to meet Jewel, formerly McKayla.

Jewel begging to get out of the pen she's spent her life in.

Jewel begging to get out of the pen she’s spent her life in.

I really didn’t want to have to come back again, but luckily, the owner did come home five minutes later, and I was able to get the two dogs signed over to me and on our way to a better life for them.

Jewel now sleeps on a rug near my feet, but earlier today she was living outside in the pen you see pictured above—covered in ticks, matted with burrs throughout her back end and tail, and lonely, sad, and all alone.

Just the opposite of the way a dog wants to and deserves to live.

Jewel is a six year old long-haired shepherd lab mix, and she is as sweet as can be. Jewel came with no vet records, however, and is in immediate need of vet care: shots, heartworm tests, worming, and flea medication. We have been told she is already spayed, but hope the vet can confirm this information.

A trip to the groomer is a must for Jewel, as her mats are beyond the scope of most of us without grooming experience, and her back end will most likely need to be shaved down.

Living in a pen is nothing more than a sad and lovely life for a creature that craves companionship.

Existing in a pen is nothing more than a sad and lovely life for a creature that craves companionship.

Who can resist that beautiful face?

Who can resist that beautiful face?

Jewel's last minute in a pen...ever!

Jewel’s last minute in a pen…ever!

I do know one thing: this girl will NEVER know another Shenandoah winter stuck out in the cold. I promise her that.

Onyx is doing better in the house so far than Jewel, as she is used to living inside.

Onyx is doing better in the house so far than Jewel, as she is used to living inside.

Jewel’s daughter Onyx was released to rescue as well; she had it better, for she lived inside the home while Jewel lived in the pen. Who knows why.

Onyx is a three year old long-haired lab/flatcoat/newfie mix, and is a little more standoffish with strangers but also sweet and will make a great companion. She has some matting in her back end, and is in need of full vet care plus her own trip to the groomer.

The tip of Onyx's tongue is black. How adorable is that?

The tip of Onyx’s tongue is black. How adorable is that?

These girls deserve a great new start to life! Their former owner passed away unexpectedly last April, and the man of the house could no longer keep up with their needs, which led to his willingness to release them up to a rescue situation. They are two of the lucky ones!

I am no longer with DDB, and so am on my own with funding and carrying out this rescue.

https://www.youcaring.com/jewel-and-onyx-465319

Can you help them get back on their feet and ready for a new life by chipping in just a little to help with their immediate needs?

If you can spare even $5 or $10 toward their vet and grooming care, it would be so much appreciated by me and by these two sweet dogs, Jewel and Onyx.

Thank you so much for caring about them! And a big thank you from two precious souls who will now get to know the joy that comes from an inside and loving home for the holidays.

https://www.youcaring.com/jewel-and-onyx-465319

The mats on Jewel's back end.

The mats on Jewel’s back end.

Her tail is completely matted too.

Her tail is completely matted too.

I'm a beauty all right!

I’m a beauty all right!

Does my nose look big in this shot?

Does my nose look big in this shot?

Jewel's Freedom Ride!

Jewel’s Freedom Ride!

